Aram Bartholl
english / deutsch

Works Exhibitions Upcoming Press&Text Blog CV Contact
Are you social?
unlimited multiple
2007













Download: All Micro Buttons at microbuttons.wordpress.com


The triumphal march of Web2.0 in the last two years, with services like Flickr, YouTube and MySpace, has led to a new internet boom. After the dotcom bubble burst on the stock exchange in 2000, financial backers (VCs) are now once again investing in so-called startups - small, potentially successful internet companies such as YouTube or Myspace - in the hope of reaping big returns. The number of new web services is enormous and growing daily, so that it is becoming increasingly difficult to maintain an overview of them all. Some successful services have already been copied, varied and combined, or in rare cases completely new services and business models are being developed.

The rapidly hackneyed term Web2.0 has recently been replaced in internet circles by the name ""social web / social software". "Social“ because connecting users to each other plays a central role in the new internet. All these services require users to establish a profile with name, photo and all manner of personal information. Users produce their own networks through lists of friends and buddies in order to get noticed and to profit from the vast flow of information. According to how active users are and which services they use, ever-increasing amounts of details of everyday private life are made public. In contrast to the normal urban restraint in everyday life in public places such as supermarkets and cafés, in the network the private lives of a wide range of people are revealed, sometimes with elaborate reports of the previous night's party. The new services present great potential benefits for the user, however the extensive transparency poses many questions. Users in many places must first consciously learn how best to use these services.

Since most social web platforms are not cross-linked with each other, it is difficult to follow which service and under which name a friend or acquaintance is registered. In the future identification platforms such as OpenID will attempt to provide help for this problem. At present, however, users still have to build a new network of friends on each separate service. In order to make life easier, smart users publish their membership as a list of icons of the corresponding services on their website or blog.

The T-shirt "Are you social?“ takes up this phenomenon and shows a list of the best-known social web services (as of 08/2007) with their icons and colours. The owner of the T-shirt is expected to mark the services he uses with a pen and to wear it in public. What happens when users start wearing their network identities openly in public? What does identity mean in the age of Web2.0? Where is this still growing mass of webservices leading to?


Credits:

The project "Are you social?" is a cooperation of Aram Bartholl ( concept ) and Markus Angermeier a.k.a. Kosmar ( micro button design und selection of web services ).


Exhibition:

The project "Are you social?" has been shown first time and was for sale at the Second City shop at
Ars Electronica 2007.

Download: All Micro Buttons at microbuttons.wordpress.com


Aram Bartholl 2007
www.datenform.de











"Are you social?"- Tattoos
Unlimited multiple 2008

"
Customize and wear Are-you-social-tattoos. Wear Web2.0 on your skin! Inhale Social Web!"


"Are you social?"-Tattoos take the "Are you social?"-T-Shirts to the next level and served as flyers for the work "Friends" which was premierd during Futuresonic Festivals 2008.

Full DIY instructions at www.instructables.com

Design by Veronika Becker

cc Some rights reserved. All content on this webpage is licensed under Creative Commons license by-nc-sa 3.0 . Aram Bartholl 2014

Aram Bartholl
english / deutsch

Arbeiten Ausstellungen Upcoming Presse&Text BlogCV Kontakt
Are you social?
unlimited multiple
2007













Download: Alle Micro Buttons auf microbuttons.wordpress.com/!


Der Siegeszug des Web2.0 mit Diensten wie Flickr, YouTube, MySpace und Co hat in den letzten zwei Jahren zu einem neuen Boom im Internet geführt. Nachdem im Jahr 2000 die grosse Internetblase an der Börse geplatzt war, investieren die Geldgebern (VCs) jetzt wieder in sogenannte Startups, kleine Internetfirmen um mit eventuellen Verkaufserfolgen wie z.B. bei Youtube oder Myspace grosse Erlöse zu erzielen. Die Anzahl neuer Webdienste ist unüberschaubar gross geworden und nimmt weiterhin zu. Oft werden bereits erfolgreiche Dienste kopiert, variiert und kombiniert. Erfolgreich ist ein Webdienst schon dann, wenn er hohe Userzahlen vorweisen kann, welche im späteren Fall Werbeeinnamen garantieren.

Der schnell aufgebrauchte Begriff Web2.0 wurde in Internetkreisen unlängst durch die Bezeichnung "Social Web / Social Software" abgelöst. „Social“, da die Vernetzung von Usern untereinander eine zentrale Rolle im neuen Internet spielt. Alle diese Dienste erfordern das Anlegen eines Profil’s mit Namen, Foto und allerlei persönlichen Informationen. Über Freunde- und Buddylisten erstellt der User dann sein eigenes Netzwerk, um gesehen zu werden und vom grossen Informationsfluss zu profitieren. Je nach dem wie intensiv und welche Dienste ein User benutzt, werden mehr und mehr Details des privaten Alltags öffentlich. Entgegen der grossstädtischen Zurückhaltung im alltäglichem Leben im Öffentlichen Raum z.B. im Supermarkt oder im Cafe, wird im Netz die Privatsphäre einer breiten Öffentlichkeit, bisweilen mit detaillierten Partyerlebnisse der letzten Nacht, preisgegeben. Die neuen Dienste bergen grosse Potentiale für den Nutzer, die weitgehende Transparenz wirft aber viele Fragen auf.

Da die meisten Socialweb-Plattformen untereinander nicht vernetzt sind, ist es schwierig nachzuverfolgen welcher Freund oder Bekannter bei welchem Dienst unter welchem Namen angemeldet ist. Identifikationsplattformen wie z.B. OpenID versuchen in Zukunft hier Abhilfe zu schaffen. Im Moment ist es aber noch üblich, dass der User sich bei jedem neuem Dienst das Freundenetzwerk neu aufbauen muss. Um dies zu erleichtern veröffentlichen umtriebige Nutzer eine Auflistung von sogenannten Micro Buttons der entsprechenden Dienste auf ihrer Webseite oder Weblog.

Das T-Shirt „Are you social?“ greift dieses Phänomen auf und listet die bekanntesten Socialweb-Dienste (Stand 08/2007) als Micro Buttons mit Kästchen zum ankreuzen auf. Der Träger des T-Shirts ist aufgefordert mit einem Stift die Dienste, die er benutzt zu markieren um sich mit diesen in der Öffentlichkeit zu zeigen. Wie erscheinen User mit ihren Netzidentitäten am Körper getragen im physischen öffentlichen Raum? Was bedeutet Identität in Zeiten von Web2.0? Wohin führt uns die uferlos wachsende Anzahl von neuen Webdiensten?


Credits:

Das Projekt "Are you social?" ist eine Kooperation von Aram Bartholl ( Konzept) and Markus Angermeier
( Micro Button design und Auswahl der Dienste ).


Ausstellung:

Das Projekt "Are you social?" wurde erstmalig auf der Ars Electronica 2007 im Second City shop gezeigt und war dort auch käuflich zu erwerben.


Download: Alle Micro Buttons auf Kosmar.de!

Aram Bartholl 2007
www.datenform.de












"Are you social?"- Tattoos
Unlimited multiple 2008

"
Customize and wear Are-you-social-tattoos. Wear Web2.0 on your skin! Inhale Social Web!"


"Are you social?"-Tattoos sind eine Weiterentwicklung des "Are you social?"-T-Shirts und dienten als Flyer der Arbeit "Friends" während Futuresonic Festivals 2008.

Full DIY instructions at www.instructables.com

Design by Veronika Becker

cc Some rights reserved. All content on this webpage is licensed under Creative Commons license by-nc-sa 3.0 . Aram Bartholl 2014